Prevention and Public Health Fund at Risk

Jun 19, 2015 by

Prevention and Public Health Fund at Risk

Friday, June 19th

The Prevention and Public Health Fund that provides our nation with critical public health funding is at risk, and we need your help. Yesterday, the U.S. House of Representatives held debate on H.R. 1190, which would repeal the Independent Payment Advisory Board created by the Affordable Care Act. An amendment has been proposed that would use the Prevention and Public Health Fund to offset the cost of the bill to the tune of $8.85 billion. To put things into perspective, that would essentially cut the Fund in half by 2025.

The cut would be so severe that even Congresswoman Linda Sanchez, the lead democratic sponsor of H.R. 1190 said that she would vote against her own bill to protect the fund. Representative Jim McDermott (D-WA) also took to the floor in support of preserving the Prevention and Public Health Fund.

We need you to do the following:

1) Call Representative McDermott (206-553-7170) to thank him for his remarks on Thursday.

2) E-mail or call the members of the Washington state Congressional Delegation to tell them that you are opposed to using the Prevention and Public Health Fund to offset H.R. 1190.

Washington State House

Members

       
Members District Party DC Office Phone Health Care Legislative Assistant
Suzan DelBene 01 D (202) 225-6311 Casey.Katims@mail.house.gov
Rick Larsen 02 D (202) 225-2605 Matt.Renninger@mail.house.gov
Jamie Herrera Butler 03 R (202) 225-3536 Jessica.Wixson@mail.house.gov
Dan Newhouse 04 R (202) 225-5816 Stephanie.Katz@mail.house.gov
Cathy McMorris Rogers 05 R (202) 225-2006 Nick.Magallanes@mail.house.gov
Derek Kilmer 06 D (202) 225-5916 Megan.Thompson@mail.house.gov
Jim McDermott 07 D (202) 225-3106 Daniel.Foster@mail.house.gov
Dave Reichert 08 R (202) 225-7761 Lindsay.Manson@mail.house.gov
Adam Smith 09 D (202) 225-8901 Rebecca.Nathanson@mail.house.gov
Denny Heck 10 D (202) 225-9740 Hart.Edmondson@mail.house.gov

A final vote is expected next Tuesday evening.

Related Posts

Tags

Share This